A-Alikes <br />New York, NY Aisha Sekhmet <br />Atlanta, GA Ankh Amen Ra <br />Atlanta, GA Articulate <br />Baltimore, MD Askari X <br />CA Ayana Soyini <br />New York, NY Basheba Earth <br />Denver, CO Black Thought <br />Philly/NYC Brotha's Keepa <br />Memphis, TN Catch Wreck <br />Boston, MA Chop <br />Location Cypher Divine <br />Location Dead Prez <br />NYC, ATL, TX DJ Chela <br />Location DJ Lord <br />ATL, GA DJ True Justice <br />Bay Area, CA Duo Live <br />NYC, ATL Ekundayo <br />ATL, GA Elevation <br />Location Emonifela <br />Location Professor Griff <br />ATL, GA Hakim Green <br />Location Hasan Salaam <br />Location Head Roc <br />Location Immortal Technique <br />NYC I-n-I Mighty Lockdown <br />NYC/ATL I-Self Divine <br />Minneapolis, MN Ishues <br />ATL, GA/Africa Jahi <br />Location Jasiri X <br />Pittsburgh, PA Jay Electronica <br />New Orleans Jean Grae <br />Location J Live <br />Location Jus Black <br />Location Kam <br />CA Khalilah Ali <br />Location Knaan <br />Mogedishu, Somalia, LA Kwezorro <br />Location Labtekwon <br />Baltimore, MD Lady Khadija <br />Location Legacy <br />Location Little Brother <br />Location Lord Jamar <br />NYC Luz Wed <br />NYC, FLA, ATL Malachi <br />ATL, GA Maroon Society <br />NYC/NJ Melaphyre <br />ATL, GA Mic Crenshaw <br />CA Mike Flo <br />ATL, GA/Chicago Mos Def <br />NYC M Team <br />NYC Mystic <br />CA Naeink <br />Grand Rapids, MI/Chicago Narcicyst <br />Iraq, Toronto, Canada Native Son and 5th L <br />Location NYOIL <br />Staten Island, NYC Paris <br />Bay Area, CA Precise Science <br />Location Public Enemy <br />NYC/ATL, GA Rakim <br />NYC Raven Sorvino <br />Location Rebel Diaz <br />NYC Riders Against The Storm <br />Providence, RI Sabertooth <br />ATL, GA Sadat X <br />NYC Selassie <br />Bay Area, CA Stacy Epps <br />Location Starchild <br />DC, Africa Stahhr the FEMCEE <br />ATL, GA Supanova Slom <br />NYC Tahir <br />FLA Talib Kweli <br />NYC The Coup <br />Bay Area, CA Thundakat <br />Location Tiye Phoenix <br />Location T-Kash <br />Bay Area, CA Truth Universal <br />New Orleans U George <br />ATL, GA, St. Thomas Umi <br />NYC UNO The Prophet <br />Boston, MA Wise Intelligent <br />Trenton, NJ, Philly XCLAN <br />CA, NYCZayd <br />ATL, GA Yejide the Night Queen <br />NYC Zion-I <br />Location
Conscious Artists Database
Join the Database

Conscious Hip-Hop Artist Database

The Conscious Hip-Hop Artist Database is a project of Hip-Hop 4 Black Unity www.hip-hop4blackunity.org The purpose of this database is multi-fold:

1. To showcase Conscious, Pro-Black, Revolutionary Artists and Groups in order to combat negative images and messages in Hip-Hop and present a positive Alternative for our people, particularly the youth.

2. To encourage Networking among these Artists and Groups who previously may not have been aware of each other and in so doing foster relationships and facilitate collaborations, tours, albums, promotions, marketing, merchandise and other opportunities for mutual advancement and in furtherance of the overall goal of sending a positive message.

3. Provide a clear provable argument to naysayers, haters and critics who claim "Hip-Hop is dead" or "All Hip-Hop today is garbage" This database will be indisputable proof that there are many artists from all across the country who do care and who are speaking from truth, and not promoting misogyny, self-hate, violence, materialism, etc.

4. Provide a clear alternative for Parents and others who may be searching for Hip-Hop which is better for their children. This database contains artists who use strong language and therefore parental discretion is advised, however you will find all artists contained herein have messages which are cultural, historical, afrocentric, pro-black, conscious, revolutionary, wholistic, militant, radical, etc.

Conscious Artist Database

 

Artist

Sex

Location

Web Presence

A-Alikes M NYC www.myspace.com/aalikes
www.aalikes.net
Aisha Sekhmet F ATL www.myspace.com/missaishamusic
Ankh Amen Ra M ATL www.myspace.com/ankhamenramusic
Articulate M Baltimore, MD www.myspace.com/itsartic
www.itsartic.com
Askari X M CA www.myspace.com/askarixrbg
Ayana Soyini F NYC www.myspace.com/ayanasoyini
www.khamoflage.com
BaSheBa Earth F Denver, CO www.myspace.com/bashebaearth
www.urbanearth.net
Black Thought
(The Roots)
M Philly/NYC www.myspace.com/blackthought
www.okayplayer.com
www.theroots.com
Brotha's Keepa M Memphis, TN www.myspace.com/jmalo
www.brothaskeepa.com
Catch Wreck M Boston, MA www.myspace.com/catchwreckmusic
www.catchwreckmusic.com
Chop F Jackonsville, FLA www.myspace.com/chopchopp
Cypher Divine M/F Louisville, KY www.myspace.com/cypherdivinemuzik

dead prez

M1 & Stic Man

M

ATL, GA
NYC
TX

www.myspace.com/m1rbg
www.myspace.com/sticman-deadprez
www.deadprez.com
www.bossupbu.com
DJ Chela F NC/NYC www.myspace.com/djchela
DJ Lord M ATL www.myspace.com/djlord
DJ True Justice M Bay Area, Cali www.myspace.com/justeyecee
www.myspace.com/djtruejustice
DUO LIVE M NYC www.myspace.com/duolive
www.redemptionmusicgroup.com
Ekundayo M ATL www.myspace.com/eml4  
www.liunsden.com
Elevation M Amherst-MA, ATL, Nashville www.myspace.com/bronzetitan
Emoni Fela F LA/DC www.myspace.com/emonifela
Professor Griff
(Public Enemy, 7th Octave)
M ATL/NYC www.myspace.com/professorgriffofpublicenemy
Hakim
(Channel Live)
M NYC/NJ www.myspace.com/channellive77
Hasan Salaam M New Jersey www.myspace.com/hasansalaam
Head-Roc M DC www.myspace.com/headroc  
www.head-roc.com
InI Mighty Lockdown M ATL/NYC www.myspace.com/inimightylockdown
www.reverbnation.coom/inimightylockdown
Immortal Technique M NYC www.myspace.com/immortaltechnique
I-Self Devine M Minneapolis, MN www.myspace.com/iselfdevine
www.rhymesayers.com
Ishues M ATL, GA www.myspace.com/ishues
Jahi M

Bay Area, CA
Cleveland

  myspace.com/jahimusic10 
Jasiri X M Pittsburgh, PA www.myspace.com/jasirix
Jay Electronica M New Orleans www.myspace.com/jayelect 
Jean Grae F NYC www.myspace.com/jeangrae
www.jean-grae.com
J-Live M NYC www.myspace.com/jlive
Jus Black M ATL www.myspace.com/jbfire  
www.liunsden.com
Kam M Compton, Watts, Cali www.myspace.com/westcoastkam1
Khalilah Ali F ATL, GA via Youngstown, OH www.myspace.com/khalilahali 

K'Naan

M Mogadisho, Somalia
Toronto, Canada
Los Angeles
www.myspace.com/knaanmusic
Kwezorro da Latin Liun M   www.myspace.com/latinliun
www.liunsden.com
L.E.G.A.C.Y. the artist F   www.legacys-haven.com
www.myspace.com/LEGACYTHEALBUM
Labtekwon - Omar Akbar M Baltimore, MD www.myspace.com/labtekwon777
www.labtekwon.imeem.com
Lady Khadija F   www.myspace.com/khadija19
http://clik.to/khadija19
Little Brother M N. Carolina www.myspace.com/littlebrother
www.hallofjustus.com
Lord Jamar
(Brand Nubian)
M NYC www.myspace.com/lordjamar
Luz Wed M FLA, ATL, NYC www.myspace.com/luzwed
www.liunsden.com
Malachi M ATL, GA via S. Carolina www.myspace.com/atlhboy
www.hustlinboy.com
Maroon Society
God MC & M'Kassa
M NY, NJ www.myspace.com/maroonsociety
www.youtube.com/mkassa1
www.myspace.com/mkassa1
www.myspace.com/godmc7
Melaphyre M ATL, GA via New Orleans www.myspace.com/fightforus
www.fightforus.com
Mic Crenshaw M PORTLAND, MInneapolis, CHI, NYC www.myspace.com/miccrenshaw
Mike Flo M

ATL, GA via Chi

www.myspace.com/404mikeflo
Mos Def M NYC www.myspace.com/mosdef

Mujahadeen Team
as featured in the new movie
"New Muslim Cool"
Jason Hamza Perez

M NYC www.myspace.com/mteam
http://www.newmuslimcool.com
Mystic F CA www.myspace.com/thatgirlmystic
Naeink F Grand Rapids, MI via Chicago www.myspace.com/naeink
The Narcicyst M Toronto, Canada www.myspace.com/euphrates
Native Son & The Dri Fish of The 5th L M Baltimore, MD www.myspace.com/the5thl  
www.5thl.com
NYOIL M NYC www.myspace.com/nyoil
www.nyoil.com
Paris
(Guerilla Funk)
M Bay Area, Cali www.myspace.com/guerrillaparis
www.guerillafunk.com
Precise Science M Baltimore, MD www.myspace.com/ruffmicfreedomwriter
Public Enemy
Chuck D, Prof. Griff, DJ Lord, S1W's
M ATL, GA, NYC www.myspace.com/publicenemy
www.publicenemy.com
Rakim M NYC www.myspace.com/rakim
Raven Sorvino F Hollywood, CA via Houston, TX www.myspace.com/ravensorvino
Rebel Diaz M/F NY www.myspace.com/rebeldiaz
www.rebeldiaz.com
Riders Against The Storm
(RAS)
M/F Providence, RI www.myspace.com/rasridersagainstthestorm
Sabertooth M ATL, GA www.myspace.com/saberbeatcollection
www.liunsden.com

Sadat X
(Brand Nubian)

M NYC www.myspace.com/sadatx
Selassie M Bay Area, CA www.myspace.com/sellassie
Stacy Epps F Durham, NC via ATL www.myspace.com/stacyepps
Starchild M Washington D.C. www.myspace.com/thelionofthedesert  
staHHr tha f.e.m.c.e.e. F ATL, GA www.myspace.com/stahhr723
www.beatvizion.com
Supa Nova Slom M NYC www.myspace.com/supanovaslomonline
www.supanovaslom.com
Tahir
(Love Klub)
M FLA www.myspace.com/loveklubmusic
Talib Kweli M NYC www.talibkweli.com/
www.myspace.com/talibkweli
The Coup M/F Oakland, CA www.myspace.com/thecoupmusic
Thunda Kat M   www.myspace.com/thundakat7
www.liunsden.com
Tiye Phoenix F Baltimore, MD/NJ www.myspace.com/tiyephoenix
T-Kash M Bay Area, Cali www.myspace.com/tkashforever
Truth Universal M New Orleans www.myspace.com/truthuniversal
www.truthuniversal.com
U-George M ATL, GA via Saint Thomas www.myspace.com/ugeorge
Umi
(dead prez)
M NYC www.myspace.com/umisworld
www.umirbg.com
UNO The Prophet
aka Nat Turner Devil Burner
M Boston, ATL www.myspace.com/unotheprophet
www.unotheprophet.com
www.youtube.com/jamarhlc
Wise Intelligent
(Poor Righteous Teachers)
M NJ, Philly www.myspace.com/wiseintelligent
www.Intelligentmuzik.com
XCLAN M LA, Cali, NY www.myspace.com/xclanmusic
www.xclanmusic.com
Yejide the Night Queen 
"Mama Wize"
F Brooklyn, NYC www.myspace.com/yejidethenightqueen
www.myspace.com/yejide7  
www.cdbaby.com/yejide
Zayd M ATL, GA www.myspace.com/kingsrow
www.myspace.com/dare2win
Zion I M Bay Area, CA www.myspace.com/zioni